Practicing the Art of Soul Control ~ SELAH

Oh My soul … is still so full from today. In fact, I have had an afternoon of Selah… the word we learned in the Psalms today that means: “to pause and listen” or “to stop and think”.
The Holy Spirit was moving in our group through the heart-felt sharing. listening, prayers and reading of the Psalms.
Such a precious time. I am so grateful to share this journey with y’all.

I am actually going to start packing. The very activity that stressed me out this morning, which after my reading of the psalms, specifically Psalm 94:19, and my time of fellowship AND my Selah, the Lord has lifted my anxiety. Amen.

{Questions and notes were compiled and edited using information from Let. It. Go author, Karen Ehman, and the P31 OBS leader, Melissa Taylor.}

Practicing the Art of Soul Control Video Notes:

Sometimes situations happen in life occur that rattle our souls.

Many times in the Psalms, the writers used the word Selah, which means “to pause and listen” or “to stop and think of that.”

The psalmists also often used the expression “My soul” when writing, making it appear that they were talking not only to God or to others, but to themselves.

David learned the fine art of soul control:

  1. Soul control is when we speak God’s truth to ourselves.
  2. Soul control is when we recognize that life is not fair, that others prosper who seem evil while the righteous seem to flail about.
  3. Soul control is when we pause to remember our place. And God’s.
  4. Soul control is learning to idle our brain before we engage our mouth, thereby saving ourselves a boatload of heartache, wounded relationships, and regret.
  5. Soul control is when we stop ~ sometimes midsentence ~ and realign our thinking and resulting actions with God’s Word.
  6. Soul control is when we finally realize that it is only God who has sole control over the universe. We do not. And even though it appears that sometimes people or even Satan control the situation, they do not.
  7. Soul control is a fresh dose of perspective amidst the turmoil of life that can transform a control freak woman (who has only wounded with her words perhaps, but killed nonetheless) into a woman who, like transformed David, follows hard after God’s heart.
  8. Soul control not only changes us. It can change others.

When we can’t control our circumstances, we must learn to control our soul!

Which of the 8 points above do you most need to remember with your teen right now and why?

Can you think of a time when you had to boss your heart around?

Read the following verses and note what you learn about talking to your own soul:

Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God. (Psalm 42:11 NIV)

Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God. (Psalm 42:11 ESV)

For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him. (Psalm 62:5 ESV)

My soul longs, yes, faints for the courts of the Lord; my heart and flesh sing for joy to the living God. (Psalm 84:2 ESV)

When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought me joy. (Psalm 94:19 NIV)

Karen wrote about five controlling methods:

Outright action

Subtle Mood Swings

Guilt-Laying trips,

Cloaked Concern

Pulling the “God card”

Which did you identify with and how will you get some Soul Control in the future? Will you memorize a verse? Spend time with God? Have a friend keep you accountable? …

One thought on “Practicing the Art of Soul Control ~ SELAH

Leave a Reply

