Do you envy me?

Do you envy me?    Will you admit it?

Do I secretly hope you do?  SOMETIMES.

Do I envy you? PERHAPS.

Do we all compare ourselves to others? OF COURSE

How about: do I compare my kids to your kids? YEP

Do I envy my own kids????  and their awesome adventures??

These are some of the photos I posted on social media this week:

image image image image image In my conscious mind, I posted these photos with the intention of sharing life. Rejoicing in the adventures of others and appreciating that they are experiencing God’s beautiful creation. I have been truly at peace and not jealous of them having adventures without “Mom”. I have also been free of worry and trusting God with their safety. And that is such a gift. Thank you Lord, for my peaceful heart.

But after listening to this week’s bible study lesson on the comparison trap by Andy Stanley, I have been reflecting on social media and the effect it can have on others.

Cause then I posted this:

Screen Shot 2015-06-06 at 11.55.27 AM

Yep, an honest post but when Kim mentioned my nails, I realized the photo had some underlying pride. UGLY! what a constant battle we are in in this world!

If you haven’t seen the video, you can watch it now for free.

I highly recommend it for you and your family.

Comparison Trap Session 1 link

Here is the handout for reflection:

Screen Shot 2015-06-06 at 10.41.36 AM

I have been reflecting on several verses since I watched the video.

A heart at peace gives life to the body, but envy rots the bones.

Proverbs 14:30

Sean and I even had an in depth discussion about it at dinner. And I brought up question 5. Is there anyone you secretly enjoy seeing fail?  Who want to admit that!!! not me. But I thought about Facebook and although I don’t want people to fail, I have noticed that I don’t hit the “like” button on certain photos. which ones and why, you might wonder… confession ~ generally it involves cheerleaders. There I said it. And it is ridiculous but it stems all the way back to Junior High. A group of new friends (we had moved that year) were staying after school. I asked why and they informed me that it was cheerleader tryouts. I was clueless that there were even cheerleaders in Jr. High. The Catholic K-8 school that I had attended in Pittsburgh didn’t have them. These new friends didn’t ask me to join them in tryouts. I felt judged and rejected and a seed of bitterness was planted.

I truly don’t believe that cheerleading was a gift of mine, heck, I could never do a cart wheel. But that didn’t stop me from comparing myself to this soon-to-be popular crowd.  And envying their after school fun and friendship as I got on the bus headed for yet another lonely afternoon watching “The Guiding Light” alone.

As I told my husband a bit of this at dinner on Wednesday, he smiled and said “It is time to let it go”. Yes, yes it is! Letting it go…a theme this year! It can be as easy as recognizing it, confessing it, accepting forgiveness and repenting. Okay, maybe that isn’t EASY but it can be. I am done with resenting cheerleaders!

Better one handful with tranquility than two handfuls with toil and chasing after the wind.

Ecclesiastes 4:6

Chasing after the wind… that is another whole blog topic and it is time to wake up my sleeping teenager that has returned from her adventures.

Looking forward to next week’s video. and what God will Reveal and Heal in me next!

Leave a Reply

