It is raining in my house but It Is Well

Good Morning. It is another rainy day and it is drizzling…. IN my family room!! But some how that doesn’t cause me any stress. Possibly because I called my husband (who is traveling for work) and he is on top of it. Quite the opposite of my restless, lonely, rainy morning yesterday.  Problems that can be passed off or shared with someone else are so much better, right?

However, my lesson yesterday, was to remember that God is always there to listen to my burdens and and bear my worries even if the problem is still dripping on my head. 

I shared my yesterday morning thoughts with my Moms of Teens group and it spoke into several hearts.  So I am simply adding it here in case someone out there needs it today.  And cause it is still raining in Memphis!

I was in a bit of the rainy Monday morning home alone blues funk today. And my mind was focused on some parenting challenges and a few old wounds that surfaced as I prayed about the the Hot Topics in this week’s chapter. (Sex, Dating and curfews, Drinking and drugs, Grades, Driving, Money,
Media (internet, TV, movies, music))

I am so grateful that God can heal and soothe my worried soul. I should go to Him first!!

But this morning I went on social media first. And I saimagew that Jill Dyson sang one of “my” songs yesterday at Hope and I missed it. (I didn’t write it or anything, it just spoke to me in a hard place a few months ago).

I went on YouTube to find the song and was hopeful that praise and worship would help my funk. What I came across first was the story of the song. I love to hear people’s stories. (One of the things I love about our group). And then I turned up the music and worshipped! The funk started to lift a bit. And then I remembered the verse from this week’s chapter (Proverbs 1:7) and was prompted to open the bible and seek wisdom and instruction. My funk lifted a little more. And then I took this photo to share with you.

Proverbs 1 7

I’m still in my jammies at 1:30pm …. but it is well with my soul.  

It is well with my soul.


Here are links to the song and story if you have time to watch it:

It Is Well:  Song Story  // Kristene DiMarco 

It Is Well  // Kristene DiMarco // You Make Me Brave


I am adding a copy of a prior blog and Facebook post if you want to read about how this song impacted me in August when Jack left for college:

I hope everyone’s teens are settled into the new school year.  Personally, I have been fairly preoccupied with my oldest heading off to college. It was very emotional in the weeks leading up to the good-bye but on the morning that he left I was blessed with peace. I went to the Moms in Prayer kickoff brunch and was surrounded by praying Moms (some from our group, too 🙂 Jill Dyson lead worship and she sang “It is well with my soul”, and it was the perfect explanation of my state … it is well with my soul.

Facebook post:

Thank you, Lord! This was the perfect place for me to be today. I have tears now as I rewatch this broadcast. I’m thankful for my loving prayerful friends that have covered me and my son in this season. And thank you to my amazingly talented friend, Jill Dyson, that uses her musical talents for God’s glory. This time of worship meant so much to my soul. And I’m thankful for this new social media, Periscope, that allowed me to broadcast and record this today. I believe the link is available for 24 hours.Screen Shot 2015-09-04 at 4.40.07 PM

Leave a Reply

