You have Charisma and a Calling

You have charisma and a calling… great news, isn’t it?

In Hope Moms of Teens we are reading Brave Enough by Nicole Unice. This week the chapter focused on our Calling. A topic that I am passionate about.

It has been life changing for me to define my calling. I can find purpose and to hopefully glorify God in my activities. It is also invaluable in helping me set limits and find peace.

Being brave enough to say yes to things that are a little out of my comfort zone but in line with my calling and to say no to the other commitments. This is the a topic for next week and they really do go together.

Calling

to fill in this sentence:

screen-shot-2016-11-10-at-4-09-10-pm

We started with this one:

“Who am I becoming?”

We watched Nicole Unice’s video on “calling”.  Here are the highlights:

We are all gifted, but we are not the same.

Just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us.
 Romans 12:4-6

Charisma (translated: gifts) are the result of grace.

There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit distributes them. 1 Corinthians 12:4

Calling is bigger than category.
 Calling is the intersection in your life of God’s glory and your design.

By the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me was not without effect. 1 Corinthians 15:10


We were brave enough to answer some of these questions in our group today. Can you be brave enough to write down your answers?

screen-shot-2016-11-06-at-7-41-31-pm

I also challenged us to pay attention to each other and be willing to encourage each other in our callings. To notice when someone lights up!

These more specific questions were especially helpful:image

Personally, I went through this process 6 years ago. I participated in a study called Woman on a Mission which has now been released as a video study called Embracing Purpose. It was intensive and entailed a lot of soul searching.

If I were to translate it into answers to the brave enough questions, it would look like this:

What do I love doing?  (what gives me energy?) talking, women’s groups, hearing people’s hearts, taking photos, holding babies

What experiences have I had of God calling me into my gifts? prayer groups, urban involvement, sharing my heart on social media and blogging

What do other confirm they see in you? shepherd, encourager, sensitivity to the Spirit

Am I in a season where I have been presented opportunities to live out my gifts? free time, leading MOTS, mentoring Moms, praying for others, encouraging healthy marriage, writing ?

I ended embracing my purpose by having a mission statement and a visual mission board. Here is mine:

image

My mission is defined as:  to guide and encourage women while using my passions and being open to God’s leading.

What is yours?

Leave a Reply

